Minority MPs stage walk out over approval of four Depity Ministers

The Minority Members of Parliament on Wednesday evening staged a walkout over the approval of some nominees for deputy ministerial positions.

They argued their members on the Appointments Committee of Parliament did not take part in the vetting of the nominees.

REAS ALSO: Parliament approves the third batch of Deputy Ministers

They staged the walkout to protest the approval of four deputy ministerial nominees who were vetted on Green Ghana Day.

The Deputy Minority Leader, Mr James Klutse Avedzi said the Chairman of the Appointments Committee was unfair to the Minority and blind-sided them about the vetting of the four nominees when the Speaker had ruled that such activities should not be held on the occasion of Green Ghana Day.

The nominees in question are Diana Asonaba Dapaah as Deputy Attorney General, Martin Adjei Mensah Korsah as Deputy Local Government Minister, Amidu China as Deputy Sanitation Minister and Zuweira Abudu Deputy Gender Minister.

“The Chairman of the [Appointments] Committee has not been fair to the Minority side of the committee. Whilst Right Honourable Speaker directed that we should take part in the tree planting, they organised a meeting for vetting of these people. We from the Minority will not be part of this debate because the chairman has not been fair to us,” he said.

Mr Avedzi, who is also the National Democratic Congress (NDC) Member of Parliament for Ketu North said being in their respective constituencies for the tree planting exercise on the instruction of the Speaker of Parliament was a national assignment hence they did not expect the chairman of the committee, Mr Joseph Osei Owusu to go ahead with the vetting.

“Our side will not support these four nominees, we will not be part of this, and I want to draw your attention to this, so we will walk out and when you finish, we will come back,” he added.
















Source: graphic

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button